News Release 

AATS 101st Annual Meeting tip sheet

American Association for Thoracic Surgery

Scientific Meeting Announcement

Meeting at a Glance

The American Association for Thoracic Surgery Annual Meeting is the oldest and largest cardiothoracic surgery meeting in North America. The 101st Annual Meeting will be held virtually April 30 - May 2, 2021.

Worldwide cardiothoracic professionals are expected to participate. These will include:

  • Cardiothoracic Surgeons
  • Physicians in related specialties including Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, Cardiology, Pulmonology, Radiology, Gastroenterology, and Thoracic Oncology
  • Fellows and Residents in Cardiothoracic and General Surgical training programs
  • Allied Health Professionals involved in the care of cardiothoracic surgical patients
  • Medical students with an interest in Cardiothoracic Surgery


Guest Lecturer: A Conversation with Condoleezza Rice, 66th U.S. Secretary of State
11:00AM, Saturday, May 1, 2021

"The theme of the 101st AATS Annual Meeting is Diversity without Exclusion in a Culture of Safety. As such, I was eager to invite an individual who epitomized these ideals as my honored guest. I consider Dr. Rice to be one of the most intelligent, thoughtful, and revered leaders of my generation. I am thrilled that she will be joining us this year to share her thoughts on how we can continue to advance not only cardiothoracic surgery but all of society in the coming years." - Marc R. Moon, AATS President

Sugarbaker Lecture: Presented by William G. Kaelin, Jr.
11:00AM, Sunday, May 2, 2021

Dr. Kaelin is currently the Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and the Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School. A Nobel laureate, Dr. Kaelin received the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. He has received numerous other awards including the MSKCC Paul Marks Prize, the AACR Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Prize, a Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award, the Canada International Gairdner International Award, the ASCI Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award, the Scientific Grand Prix of the Foundation Lefoulon-Delalande and the Institute of France, the Albert Lasker Prize, the Helis Award, and the Massry Prize.

Social Media


Conference Homepage and Program:

AATS Homepage:

Conference Registration:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.