News Release

Alvaro Della Bona named 2021 recipient of the Wilmer Souder Award

Grant and Award Announcement

International & American Associations for Dental Research

Alexandria, Va., USA - The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) announced Alvaro Della Bona, University of Passo Fundo, Brazil, as the 2021 recipient of the Wilmer Souder Award. Della Bona was recognized during the Opening Ceremonies of the virtual 99th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, held in conjunction with the 50th Annual Meeting of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) and the 45th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR), on July 21-24, 2021.

Della Bona is Professor and Immediate Past-Dean of the Dental School at the University of Passo Fundo, Brazil. He also holds an Adjunct Faculty position at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, USA. Della Bona graduated as a dentist from the University of Passo Fundo, Brazil, and went to the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, USA, for his specialty in restorative dentistry. He pursued a research fellowship at the University of Otago, New Zealand, completed his master's degree in restorative dentistry at the University of Sheffield, England, and went to the University of Florida, Gainesville, USA, for his Ph.D. in materials science and engineering. He then returned to University of Passo Fundo, Brazil, to start the post-graduate program in dentistry and became the dean of the dental school.

As a dentist and researcher in dental biomaterials, Della Bona has collaborated worldwide with experts from basic sciences to translational dental medicine. That is evident from his wide-ranging publications, which include nine textbooks, 22 book chapters and more than 200 peer reviewed papers. He is the President of the Brazilian Group of Dental Materials and President of the Academy of Dental Materials. Della Bona is also a well-recognized international speaker on dental biomaterials, with more than 300 invited presentations.

Supported by an endowment provided by the IADR Dental Materials Group, this is the oldest of the 17 IADR Distinguished Scientist Awards and consists of a monetary prize and a plaque. The award honors Dr. Wilmer Souder, the motivating force in establishing the Dental Section at the National Bureau of Standards and is designed to encourage interest in dental materials research. It is one of the highest honors bestowed by IADR.


View a PDF of this press release.

International Association for Dental Research

The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) is a nonprofit organization with over 10,000 individual members worldwide, with a mission to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research for health and well-being worldwide. To learn more, visit

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.